Skip to main content
RealCostIQ

The property side, modelled · the return rate, yours

Property vs SIP — what the property actually costs, and what it has to beat

This does one thing properly: it works out what an Indian property purchase really takes out of your pocket and puts back — your state’s own stamp duty and registration, the loan and its interest, maintenance, rent, and the cost of getting out — and then compares the same money, on the same dates, against an annual return you set yourself. No fund is modelled, named or recommended, and nothing here is investment advice.

Educational calculators — always consult a licensed professional before making financial decisions.

What does the property cost?

The agreement value, or the state's minimum valuation if that is higher.

₹
₹5L₹50Cr
Which state is the property in?

Stamp duty and registration are state levies and they differ several-fold.

4% stamp duty.

Whose name will it be registered in?

Several states charge a woman sole owner a lower rate.

How much are you putting down?

As a percentage of the price. Lenders in India rarely fund more than 80%.

%
5%100%
What rate is the home loan at?

Pre-filled at 7.9% — SBI External Benchmark based Lending Rate (EBLR).

%
0%20%
Over how many years?

The loan tenure, which is usually longer than you intend to hold the flat.

Tap to edit
yr
530
How long will you hold it before selling?

The comparison is struck at the end of this period.

Tap to edit
yr
130
What annual price growth are you assuming?

Pre-filled at 3.6% — RBI House Price Index — all-India annual growth.

%
-10%25%
What gross rental yield will the property earn?

You have to supply this — there is no published Indian figure for it.

%
0%20%
What will maintenance and society charges cost a year?

You have to supply this — there is no published India benchmark.

₹
₹0₹50L
What will it cost to sell, as a percentage of the sale price?

You have to supply this — brokerage is customary, not published.

%
0%10%
What annual return are you comparing the property against?

Your assumption, not ours. This page recommends no investment of any kind.

%
0%30%

Cash you need on day one

₹19.6 L

Telangana stamp duty and registration, plus your down payment · EMI ₹53,135 a month

Down payment₹16,00,000
Stamp duty (4.0%)₹3,20,000
Registration fee₹40,000
Loan amount₹64,00,000

The comparison needs 4 figures only you can supply

The costs above are computed from published rates — the state’s own stamp duty and registration schedule and SBI’s published lending rate. The figures below have no Indian primary source, so RealCostIQ does not supply a default for them. A plausible-looking national average compounded over 10 years is not a small error, and you would have no way to see it. Fill them in and the comparison appears.

  • Gross rental yield — No Indian primary source publishes it. NHB RESIDEX, the obvious candidate, publishes a housing PRICE index and no rental data at all — checked 2026-08-31. The per-city yield figures in circulation trace to a 2024 CREDAI-MCHI / CRE Matrix report reaching the public through a newspaper summary rather than through a CREDAI document, and they are two years old. A number that specific, presented as ours, would be a guess wearing a citation. Take the monthly rent that comparable flats in the same project or street are actually let at, multiply by twelve, and divide by the price you are paying. Ask two brokers and a resident, not a portal listing — asking rents are advertised, achieved rents are not.
  • Annual maintenance and society charges — There is no published India benchmark. Maintenance is set by the housing society or the builder's facility company per square foot of built-up area, varies several-fold between a walk-up and a tower with a clubhouse, and no government or industry body compiles it. Ask the society or the builder for the current per-square-foot monthly charge and multiply it out, then add municipal property tax, building insurance and a realistic repairs allowance. The maintenance bill on a new tower typically rises once the builder hands the society over.
  • Cost of selling — Brokerage on a resale is customary rather than statutory — commonly quoted at 1–2% of the sale price, sometimes split between the parties — and no authority publishes it. Legal and society transfer charges on the way out are quoted per transaction, not as a rate. Ask what brokers in your market actually charge a seller, and add anything your society charges on a transfer. If you intend to sell privately, enter the lower figure and keep the legal cost in mind separately.
  • Benchmark return you are comparing against — This is your assumption, not ours, and RealCostIQ does not model or recommend any investment product. The comparison below is arithmetic: it takes the same money on the same dates and compounds it at whatever annual rate you type in, so you can see what the property would have to beat. Nothing on this page is investment advice, and no return is suggested, endorsed or implied. Use whatever rate you would genuinely expect from the alternative you have in mind, before tax and before charges, and try it again a few points lower. The gap between the two answers usually matters more than either one.

What buying costs before you own anything

Down payment₹16,00,000
Telangana stamp duty₹3,20,000
Registration fee₹40,000
Cash needed on day one₹19,60,000

Source: Registration & Stamps Department, Government of Telangana — 4% stamp duty and 0.5% registration fee on the sale of immovable property, with no concession by gender of the purchaser. (registration.telangana.gov.in) — checked 2026-08-21. Not funded by the home loan: lenders advance a percentage of the property value and the state charges come out of the same savings as the deposit.

Telangana: cash on day one is understated — before Telangana's transfer duty, which this tool does not model — the real figure is higher

Telangana levies a TRANSFER DUTY on a sale instrument in addition to the stamp duty and registration fee, and it is not included in any Telangana figure on this page. This tool therefore shows a FLOOR for Telangana, not an estimate of the all-in cost, and a Telangana total should not be read as directly comparable with the seven fully-modelled states beside it. The duty is not modelled because it could not be read to the Registration & Stamps Department: registration.telangana.gov.in refused the connection on 2026-08-25, on 2026-08-27 and again on 2026-09-01, and the secondary rate tables that circulate contradict each other — some give 1.5% transfer duty with a 0.5% registration fee in a municipal area and none in a gram panchayat area, others a 5.5% duty with a 2% registration fee outside municipal limits. Encoding either would be guessing at a rate this site would then present as sourced, so the charge is stated and excluded rather than averaged in. Ask the sub-registrar for the transfer duty applicable to your property's body before you budget on the figure above.

What this does not model

  • Income tax. Rent is taxable in your hands, home loan interest and principal carry deductions under sections 24(b) and 80C, and long-term capital gains on the sale have their own regime with indexation rules that have changed recently. None of it is modelled and all of it moves the answer.
  • Rent growth and vacancy. The rent you enter is held flat for the whole period and assumed to be received every month. Real tenancies have gaps, and rents move.
  • Interest-rate movement. The loan rate you enter is held flat. A floating home loan tracks the repo rate for twenty years and will not stay where it started.
  • GST on an under-construction purchase, and TDS under section 194-IA above ₹50,00,000 — both are priced by their own calculators on this site.
  • Anything about your circumstances: whether you would otherwise be paying rent, job mobility, the value of living in a place you own, or the risk that a project is not delivered. A spreadsheet cannot price those and this one does not try.

Sourced inputs: SBI External Benchmark based Lending Rate (EBLR) — sbi.co.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates, checked 2026-08-31. RBI House Price Index — all-India annual growth — rbi.org.in, checked 2026-08-31. State charges from this site’s per-state stamp duty engine, each rate cited to its state registry above. Everything else on this page is a figure you entered.

Your Saved Scenarios

No saved scenarios yet

What this page will and will not tell you

It will tell you, in rupees, what buying costs and returns on the numbers you enter — including the ₹5 lakh-odd of state charges and loan interest that a headline “property appreciates X%” argument never counts. It will also tell you the break-even annual return: what the alternative would have had to earn, every year, to end up level.

It will not tell you what any investment returns, has returned, or will return. RealCostIQ models property costs; it does not model, rate or recommend investments, and no figure on this page is a return we are claiming for anything. If you need somewhere to live, the comparison is secondary to that anyway — a house you live in pays a dividend in shelter that no spreadsheet prices.

The cost of entry, by state, on a ₹80 L purchase

State charges on a purchase with 20% down, for a male sole owner. None of it is funded by the home loan, and none of it comes back when you sell — which is why a short hold rarely wins this comparison whatever the appreciation rate does.

Telanganastamp duty + registration ₹3,60,000 · cash on day one ₹19,60,000
Gujaratstamp duty + registration ₹4,72,000 · cash on day one ₹20,72,000
Maharashtrastamp duty + registration ₹5,10,000 · cash on day one ₹21,10,000
Delhistamp duty + registration ₹5,60,000 · cash on day one ₹21,60,000
Karnatakastamp duty + registration ₹6,08,000 · cash on day one ₹22,08,000
Tamil Nadustamp duty + registration ₹8,80,000 · cash on day one ₹24,80,000

From this site’s per-state stamp duty engine, where each rate names the state registry or government portal that publishes it and the date it was checked. Each state’s municipal layer, value bands and registration ceiling are applied rather than averaged. Compare all nine states side by side.

Whose name the flat is in changes the entry cost, and then it compounds

On the same ₹80 L Delhi purchase with 20% down, a male sole owner needs ₹21,60,000 on day one — ₹4,80,000 of stamp duty at 6% plus ₹80,000 of registration — while a female sole owner needs ₹20,00,000, because Delhi charges her 4%. That is ₹1,60,000 of difference before anything else has happened, and on the comparison side of this calculation it compounds for the whole holding period. It is also a decision about who owns the asset, with consequences for succession, for who claims the home-loan interest deduction, and for capital gains on the sale — not a rate you pick.

Which numbers are ours, and which are yours

Supplied by RealCostIQ, each read to a primary source

  • Stamp duty and registration — per state, per registered owner, from this site’s own engine, each rate cited to the state registry or government portal with the date checked.
  • SBI External Benchmark based Lending Rate (EBLR) — 7.90%. State Bank of India — External Benchmark based Lending Rate, 7.90% with effect from 15 December 2025 (linked to the RBI policy repo rate, 5.25%). SBI's home loan page separately quotes 7.25% p.a. "onwards" with effect from 1 April 2026, which is a best-case floor rather than a quoted rate. Source: sbi.co.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates, checked 2026-08-31. A starting point, not your rate. A sanctioned home loan is the external benchmark plus a spread set on your credit profile, loan-to-value and employment, and the rate floats with the repo rate over the life of the loan. Replace it with the rate on your own sanction letter.
  • RBI House Price Index — all-India annual growth — 3.60%. Reserve Bank of India — House Price Index, all-India annual growth of 3.6% in Q1:2026-27 (April–June 2026), base year 2022-23, compiled from registration authority transaction data for 18 cities. Released 24 August 2026. Source: rbi.org.in, checked 2026-08-31. A national average across 18 cities over one quarter, annualised. It is not a forecast, it is not your city, and it is not your project — the RBI release names which cities mainly contributed to the quarter's growth but publishes no per-city percentage, so no city figure is offered here. Past index growth is not a prediction of what your flat will do over ten years.

Asked of you, with no default, because no Indian source publishes them

  • Gross rental yield — No Indian primary source publishes it. NHB RESIDEX, the obvious candidate, publishes a housing PRICE index and no rental data at all — checked 2026-08-31. The per-city yield figures in circulation trace to a 2024 CREDAI-MCHI / CRE Matrix report reaching the public through a newspaper summary rather than through a CREDAI document, and they are two years old. A number that specific, presented as ours, would be a guess wearing a citation. Take the monthly rent that comparable flats in the same project or street are actually let at, multiply by twelve, and divide by the price you are paying. Ask two brokers and a resident, not a portal listing — asking rents are advertised, achieved rents are not.
  • Annual maintenance and society charges — There is no published India benchmark. Maintenance is set by the housing society or the builder's facility company per square foot of built-up area, varies several-fold between a walk-up and a tower with a clubhouse, and no government or industry body compiles it. Ask the society or the builder for the current per-square-foot monthly charge and multiply it out, then add municipal property tax, building insurance and a realistic repairs allowance. The maintenance bill on a new tower typically rises once the builder hands the society over.
  • Cost of selling — Brokerage on a resale is customary rather than statutory — commonly quoted at 1–2% of the sale price, sometimes split between the parties — and no authority publishes it. Legal and society transfer charges on the way out are quoted per transaction, not as a rate. Ask what brokers in your market actually charge a seller, and add anything your society charges on a transfer. If you intend to sell privately, enter the lower figure and keep the legal cost in mind separately.
  • Benchmark return you are comparing against — This is your assumption, not ours, and RealCostIQ does not model or recommend any investment product. The comparison below is arithmetic: it takes the same money on the same dates and compounds it at whatever annual rate you type in, so you can see what the property would have to beat. Nothing on this page is investment advice, and no return is suggested, endorsed or implied. Use whatever rate you would genuinely expect from the alternative you have in mind, before tax and before charges, and try it again a few points lower. The gap between the two answers usually matters more than either one.

Why the break-even rate is the number to read

Whatever return rate you type into the last field, the answer it produces is only as good as that guess. The break-even rate is not: it is computed from the property’s own cash flows and says what the alternative would have had to earn, every year of your holding period, on the same money on the same dates, to finish level.

That turns an argument into a question you can actually answer. If the break-even comes out at 4% you are being asked whether you can beat a fixed deposit; if it comes out at 14% you are being asked whether you can beat something considerably harder. Either way the number is a fact about the flat, not a claim about anything else — and RealCostIQ makes no claim about anything else.

What this does not model

  • Income tax. Rent is taxable in your hands, home loan interest and principal carry deductions under sections 24(b) and 80C, and long-term capital gains on the sale have their own regime with indexation rules that have changed recently. None of it is modelled and all of it moves the answer.
  • Rent growth and vacancy. The rent you enter is held flat for the whole period and assumed to be received every month. Real tenancies have gaps, and rents move.
  • Interest-rate movement. The loan rate you enter is held flat. A floating home loan tracks the repo rate for twenty years and will not stay where it started.
  • GST on an under-construction purchase, and TDS under section 194-IA above ₹50,00,000 — both are priced by their own calculators on this site.
  • Anything about your circumstances: whether you would otherwise be paying rent, job mobility, the value of living in a place you own, or the risk that a project is not delivered. A spreadsheet cannot price those and this one does not try.

Disclaimer: a cost model, not financial advice. RealCostIQ does not model, rate or recommend any investment, and no return figure on this page is one we are claiming for anything — the comparison rate is the one you entered. Property outcomes depend on the specific project, locality and transaction. Speak to a SEBI-registered investment adviser about investments and to a chartered accountant about the tax treatment of either side.

By RealCost Editorial TeamReviewed by RealCost Editorial TeamLast updated September 21, 2026 with September 2026 data

The calculator above prices what buying takes out of your pocket, but it stops at the sale — it does not model exit tax, and neither does this article invent a return assumption to fill that gap. What is sourced: a property sold after a 24-month holding counts as a long-term capital asset, and since 23 July 2024 the gain is taxed at 12.5% without indexation — a real cost that lands after the break-even rate this calculator computes, and the loan-interest deduction that many buy-vs-invest arguments assume is not available at all under the tax regime that now applies by default.

The exit tax this calculator leaves out, and what is actually confirmed about it

An official CBDT FAQ on the reformed capital-gains rules (PIB, 24 July 2024) states that the long-term capital gains rate on immovable property — one of the assets grouped under "other long-term capital gains" — was rationalised to 12.5% without indexation, down from 20% with indexation, effective for any transfer on or after 23 July 2024. The 24-month holding period that makes a sale long-term rather than short-term is unchanged by that reform. Reinvestment relief under Sections 54, 54B, 54D, 54EC, 54F and 54G continues; for Section 54EC bonds specifically, the reinvestment cap the FAQ states is ₹50 lakh. This is genuinely the exit side of the comparison the calculator above runs on the entry and holding side — apply it to whatever gain the calculator's own appreciation figure produces, after subtracting what you actually paid in state charges and interest, not the headline sale price.

What is not stated here, because it is not confirmed against a primary source in this lane: any grandfathering option for property bought before 23 July 2024, or a specific rupee cap on the Section 54/54F exemption. Both circulate widely and may well be correct, but this FAQ does not state them and no other VERIFIED entry in this registry does either — so neither appears as a sourced figure on this page.

The loan interest that funds the property side is not always deductible

Under the old tax regime, the Income Tax Department's AY 2026-27 guidance (incometax.gov.in) caps the Section 24(b) home-loan interest deduction at ₹2,00,000 a year for a self-occupied property, plus a separate ₹1,50,000 combined Section 80C limit that covers principal repayment. Under the new, default regime, the department's own regime-comparison FAQ (incometax.gov.in) states that Section 24(b) interest on a self-occupied property is not allowed as a deduction at all, and that Chapter VI-A deductions — which include Section 80C — cannot be claimed. A break-even comparison that assumes the EMI carries a tax shield is assuming the old regime; run the home loan tax benefit calculator for your own regime before treating that shield as real money.

Why the loan rate this calculator asks for is a moving number

Since 1 October 2019, RBI has required that all new floating-rate retail loans, including housing loans, be linked to an external benchmark such as the repo rate (RBI press release, 4 September 2019), with the lender free to set its own spread on top. The repo rate itself was confirmed unchanged at 5.25% across the Monetary Policy Committee's February, April and June 2026 meetings (RBI MPC resolutions), but it is reviewed roughly every two months — re-check it before treating the loan-interest figure you enter above as fixed for the whole holding period. On the entry-cost side of the same comparison, the stamp duty comparison tool is where the state charges baked into the upfront-cash figures above are worked out state by state.

Methodology

Capital-gains figures are read from an official CBDT/PIB FAQ dated the day after the reformed rate took effect; income-tax figures from the Income Tax Department's AY 2026-27 e-filing portal; loan-rate mechanics from RBI's own press releases. None of this article's figures are converted from a non-Indian source or derived from a national average.

Sources

  1. PIB — CBDT FAQs on the new capital gains tax regime (Union Budget 2024-25) — accessed 2026-09-21
  2. Income Tax Department — Salaried Individuals, AY 2026-27 — accessed 2026-09-21
  3. Income Tax Department — New vs Old Tax Regime FAQs — accessed 2026-09-21
  4. RBI — Press Release, floating-rate loans linked to external benchmark — accessed 2026-09-21
  5. RBI — Monetary Policy Committee Resolution (2026 meetings) — accessed 2026-09-21

Related Calculators

Frequently asked questions

What does this calculator actually compare?+

It models the property side in full — purchase price, the state's own stamp duty and registration, the home loan and its interest, annual maintenance, rental income, capital appreciation, and the real cost of getting out — and then takes exactly the same rupees on exactly the same dates and compounds them at an annual rate you type in yourself. It does not model, name, rate or recommend any investment product, fund or asset class, and it gives no investment advice. The comparison is arithmetic on the property you described.

Why does the calculator ask for rental yield and maintenance instead of supplying them?+

Because no Indian primary source publishes them. No Indian primary source publishes it. NHB RESIDEX, the obvious candidate, publishes a housing PRICE index and no rental data at all — checked 2026-08-31. The per-city yield figures in circulation trace to a 2024 CREDAI-MCHI / CRE Matrix report reaching the public through a newspaper summary rather than through a CREDAI document, and they are two years old. A number that specific, presented as ours, would be a guess wearing a citation. There is no published India benchmark. Maintenance is set by the housing society or the builder's facility company per square foot of built-up area, varies several-fold between a walk-up and a tower with a clubhouse, and no government or industry body compiles it. A plausible-looking national average compounded over ten years is not a small error and you would have no way to see it, so the comparison does not appear until you supply your own figures.

What upfront costs does buying carry beyond the down payment?+

Stamp duty and the registration fee, and neither is funded by the home loan — lenders advance a percentage of the property value, so the state charges come out of the same savings as the deposit. They are state levies and they differ several-fold. On an ₹80,00,000 Delhi purchase with 20% down, a male sole owner needs ₹21,60,000 on day one (₹4,80,000 stamp duty at 6% plus ₹80,000 registration), while a female sole owner needs ₹20,00,000 (₹3,20,000 at 4%) — a difference of ₹1,60,000 that then compounds for the whole holding period. Each state's rate on this site names the state registry that publishes it and the date it was checked.

What is the break-even rate the calculator reports?+

The annual return the alternative would have had to make, every year of the holding period, on the same money on the same dates, to end up exactly level with the property. It is computed by bisection from the property's own cash flows and does not depend on the rate you entered, which makes it the more useful of the two figures on the page — it is a fact about the property rather than a claim about anything else.

What does this calculator leave out?+

Income tax. Rent is taxable in your hands, home loan interest and principal carry deductions under sections 24(b) and 80C, and long-term capital gains on the sale have their own regime with indexation rules that have changed recently. None of it is modelled and all of it moves the answer. Rent growth and vacancy. The rent you enter is held flat for the whole period and assumed to be received every month. Real tenancies have gaps, and rents move. Interest-rate movement. The loan rate you enter is held flat. A floating home loan tracks the repo rate for twenty years and will not stay where it started. GST on an under-construction purchase, and TDS under section 194-IA above ₹50,00,000 — both are priced by their own calculators on this site. Anything about your circumstances: whether you would otherwise be paying rent, job mobility, the value of living in a place you own, or the risk that a project is not delivered. A spreadsheet cannot price those and this one does not try.

Want to try different numbers?

Back to the calculator ↑

Property vs SIP Calculator is built and maintained by the RealCostIQ editorial team. Cost ranges and rates are checked against published industry data and contractor quotes, and revised when the underlying figures move. Read our data methodology or more about who builds this. Every calculation runs in your browser — no account, and none of your inputs are stored.

Cost ranges and rates here are checked against contractor quotes and published industry data. If a number still looks off, email Support@RealCostIQ.com and we'll review and fix it.