Free · no signup
Rent or Buy Your Water Heater? The Canadian Arithmetic
In most of the world you buy a water heater. In Ontario and Quebec a great many houses rent one, on a contract with a term, an escalation clause and a buyout — and that is a Canadian question no American calculator contains. This one prices all three paths in Canadian dollars: buy outright, keep renting, or buy out the contract you already have.
Educational calculators — always consult a licensed professional before making financial decisions.
Your water heater
The province sets the electricity price and the plumber's wage; the type sets the installed price and NRCan's energy factor.
It changes the running cost, the plumber's rate, and whether renting is even a market where you live.
Electricity 15.57¢/kWh (Toronto) · plumber median C$32.50/hr
Purchase price and running cost both turn on this.
Installed C$1,200–C$2,300 · NRCan EF 0.62
Copy the rate, escalation and install date from your own agreement if you have one. The defaults are Enercare's published figures.
This is the field that drives the rental rate and the buyout — it is the Canadian half of this calculator.
From C$25.87/month before HST · buyout when new C$1,804
Leave at 0 and the provider's own published starting rate for your venting type is used.
Default is the only escalation figure a Canadian provider actually published.
This looks up the published buyout — and there is a cliff at fifteen years worth knowing about.
Rent path starts at C$25.87 a month before HST — the published starting rate for this venting type
Ten years is the term two Canadian providers publish. Litres a day and the temperature rise set the running cost, which is the same on every path.
Default is the ten-year term two Canadian providers publish — not an invented lifespan.
NRCan publishes 110–450 L a day for three people.
Stored temperature minus the temperature of the water coming in.
Buy vs rent over 10 years · Ontario
Renting costs C$2,087 more
All figures in Canadian dollars (CAD), BEFORE GST/HST/PST — Enercare's published rental range is explicitly "plus HST".
The crossover — when rent has cost you what buying would have
At C$25.87 a month rising 3.93% a year, cumulative rent reaches the C$1,628 mid installed purchase price in month 59 — 4 years and 11 months. Past that month every further payment is money spent on equipment you still do not own.
Running cost is deliberately excluded from both sides of this one figure. The unit burns the same gas or the same electricity whoever owns it, so including it would only dilute the comparison. It is included in the three totals above.
Buyout — Enercare's published 5–6 yr bracket
A 5.0-year-old conventional vent gas unit falls in Enercare's published 5–6 yr bracket, where the buyout is C$1,447 — about 55.9 months of what you are already paying to rent it.
Enercare's curve is not straight-line and this calculator does not straighten it: a conventional-vent tank loses C$78 of buyout value in its first year and C$92 in its fifteenth. The buyout stays high through exactly the years a renter is most likely to want out. Reliance also offers a buyout — it publishes that the amount is “based on the age of the unit” but publishes no schedule, so the bracket above is Enercare's and is labelled as Enercare's.
Buying out today rather than renting for another 10 years saves C$2,268 on these numbers.
What it costs to run in Ontario
At 200 litres a day and a 50 °C rise, the water itself takes 4,244 kWh of useful energy a year. Applying the energy factor Natural Resources Canada publishes for this unit — 0.62 — the unit must consume 657 m³ of natural gas a year, which costs C$153.93 — so C$1,539 across the 10-year window, the same on every one of the three paths above.
NRCan publishes gas-fired storage tanks at EF 0.53–0.70 with an average of 0.62; the average is used. Gas priced at Enbridge Gas's Rate 1 for its EGD zone effective 2026-07-01: 9.0498¢ per cubic metre of gas supply plus 14.3745¢ of first-block delivery. The C$27.69 monthly customer charge is NOT added here — it is a charge on the gas account, not on the water heater, and folding it in would add C$332 a year the appliance did not incur.
Natural Resources Canada reached this conclusion before this calculator did. Its Water Heater Guide states that with renting, “there are some drawbacks, however, to renting, the most important being that, over the life of the water heater, this option will be more costly than purchasing one”. The arithmetic above is that federal sentence with your own numbers in it — and on the default Ontario case it agrees, by C$1,965 over ten years. Where your inputs make renting cheaper, the calculator says so; it does not defend the conclusion it started with.
Every figure above is in Canadian dollars and is BEFORE tax. GST, HST and PST are not modelled; Enercare's published rental range is explicitly “plus HST”. Natural gas running cost is modelled for Ontario only, at Enbridge's EGD-zone Rate 1 — Enbridge's own Union South zone differs materially on the same date, so no single Ontario gas rate is asserted and no other province's was read. Heat-pump and electric-tankless running costs are refused rather than estimated: NRCan publishes no energy factor for either. Quebec readers on an Enbridge Énov contract should set escalation to zero — that contract fixes the rate for its full 120-month term, and its 40-gallon electric rate is C$14.99 a month before taxes. Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut are not selectable. Hydro-Québec's cross-Canada residential electricity comparison prices no territorial city, and no territorial rental provider rate was read. Job Bank does publish plumber wages for all three territories — but a wage alone cannot price a water heater, and reusing a southern electricity price or a southern rental rate in a territory would understate both. Estimate only; get written quotes from licensed Canadian plumbers, and read your own rental agreement for its actual escalation and buyout terms.
Enercare's published 2026 rental range is C$19.29–C$81.12 a month plus HST across all venting types, which is the span your own bill should sit inside.
Replacing more than the tank? The Canadian furnace replacement cost calculator prices the other appliance in the same mechanical room, the Canadian home renovation cost calculator covers the wider job in CAD, and the home equity calculator shows what is available to borrow against under Canadian lending limits if you are buying out a contract and replacing the unit at once.
Your Saved Scenarios
No saved scenarios yet
The federal government already answered this, in one sentence
Natural Resources Canada's own Water Heater Guide, in the EnerGuide heating and cooling series, puts it plainly: with renting, “there are some drawbacks, however, to renting, the most important being that, over the life of the water heater, this option will be more costly than purchasing one”. That is the Government of Canada saying that renting your hot water tank costs you more over the life of the unit.
What the sentence does not do is tell you how much more, or when the arrangement turned against you, or what it would cost to get out today. Those three numbers are what the calculator above is for, and they come out of figures Canadian providers publish themselves — not from a US comparison converted at an exchange rate.
What renting actually costs, in C$ a month
Canadian rental providers price by venting type, not by brand. Enercare's published 2026 rates run from C$19.29 a month for an electric tank to C$81.12 at the top of its range, in every case plus HST. Reliance publishes by model across a similar span. Quebec is genuinely cheaper rather than differently measured: Enbridge Énov publishes C$14.99 a month for a 40-gallon electric tank before taxes, and — unusually — fixed for the whole 120-month term.
| Venting type | From (CAD/month, before HST) | Buyout when new (CAD) |
|---|---|---|
| Electric tank | C$19.29 | C$2,344 |
| Conventional vent gas | C$25.87 | C$1,804 |
| Power vent gas | C$38.01 | C$2,430 |
| Direct vent gas | C$42.43 | C$4,784 |
| Power direct vent gas | C$46.97 | C$4,784 |
| Condensing gas | C$70.01 | C$8,002 |
| Tankless gas | C$44.99 | C$5,443 |
Monthly rates: Enercare's published “starting from” rates by venting type, read 2026-09-11, plus HST. Buyout-when-new: Enercare's 2026 buyout table, category range at a new unit. All figures Canadian dollars. Direct vent, power direct vent and condensing units are published by Enercare as category ranges rather than per-model brackets, so the calculator uses the power-vent bracket curve for their shape and says so.
The buyout table — the document that makes this answerable
Enercare publishes its full buyout schedule: sixteen age brackets, in Canadian dollars, for 2026, with the historical schedules back to 2016 alongside it. It is a published depreciation curve for a rented household appliance, and nothing in the US market has an equivalent. Two features of it decide whether buying out is worth doing.
First, it is not straight-line. A conventional-vent tank loses C$78 of buyout value in its first year and C$92 in its fifteenth — roughly declining-balance, with the steepest drops late. The buyout therefore stays high through precisely the years a renter is most likely to want out. Second, at fifteen years every category floors at C$100 and stops falling. The bracket immediately below it is C$192for a conventional vent, so there is a real step at fifteen years, not a taper.
| Unit age | Conventional vent | Power vent | Electric | Tankless |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0–1 yr | C$1,904 | C$2,483 | C$2,131 | C$4,341 |
| 1–2 yr | C$1,826 | C$2,381 | C$2,043 | C$4,163 |
| 2–3 yr | C$1,739 | C$2,268 | C$1,947 | C$3,965 |
| 3–4 yr | C$1,647 | C$2,148 | C$1,844 | C$3,756 |
| 4–5 yr | C$1,550 | C$2,021 | C$1,735 | C$3,534 |
| 5–6 yr | C$1,447 | C$1,887 | C$1,619 | C$3,299 |
| 6–7 yr | C$1,338 | C$1,744 | C$1,497 | C$3,050 |
| 7–8 yr | C$1,222 | C$1,593 | C$1,367 | C$2,786 |
| 8–9 yr | C$1,099 | C$1,433 | C$1,230 | C$2,506 |
| 9–10 yr | C$969 | C$1,264 | C$1,085 | C$2,209 |
| 10–11 yr | C$831 | C$1,084 | C$930 | C$1,895 |
| 11–12 yr | C$685 | C$893 | C$767 | C$1,562 |
| 12–13 yr | C$530 | C$691 | C$593 | C$1,209 |
| 13–14 yr | C$366 | C$477 | C$410 | C$835 |
| 14–15 yr | C$192 | C$251 | C$215 | C$438 |
| 15+ yrthe floor — every category | C$100 | C$100 | C$100 | C$100 |
Source: Enercare, 2026 Water Heater Buyout Table, covering 2026-01-01 to 2026-12-31, read 2026-09-11. All figures Canadian dollars. Taxes, and any removal or administration fee, are not stated on the table and are therefore not modelled here. Reliance also offers a buyout and states that the amount is based on the unit's age, but publishes no schedule — so every bracket above is Enercare's and is labelled as Enercare's rather than presented as an industry norm.
What buying costs instead
| Type | Installed, as published for Quebec (CAD) | NRCan energy factor |
|---|---|---|
| Electric storage tank | C$600–C$1,200 | 0.85 |
| Natural gas storage tankReno Quotes publishes gas tank and gas tankless as one blended installed line. No Canadian publisher read on 2026-09-11 separates them. | C$1,200–C$2,300 | 0.62 |
| Natural gas tankless (on-demand)Same blended Reno Quotes line as the gas tank. A real gas-tankless quote commonly runs above this band because of venting and gas-line work, and no Canadian publisher gives a tankless-specific installed figure that could be read. | C$1,200–C$2,300 | 0.82 |
| Electric tankless (on-demand) | C$500–C$1,300 | none published |
| Heat-pump / thermodynamicReno Quotes publishes this as "thermodynamic": unit C$1,500–C$3,000 plus labour C$600–C$1,000. | C$2,100–C$4,000 | none published |
Installed cost: Reno Quotes (Reno-Quotes Inc., Montréal), published 2026-02-10, CAD, unit plus labour. Energy factors: NRCan Water Heater Guide, EnerGuide heating and cooling series, revised October 2012 — electric storage tank 0.64–0.98 with an average of 0.85, gas-fired storage tank 0.53–0.70 averaging 0.62, tankless gas a 0.82 minimum. Before GST/HST/PST.
Your rights, if you want out of a rental contract
This part is genuinely Canadian law and it is worth knowing before you phone anyone. In Ontario a water heater is a restricted good: under the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 and O. Reg. 180/08, with the rules in force since 1 March 2018, a business cannot offer or sell you one at your home unless you started the conversation. The same list covers furnaces, air conditioners, air and water purifiers, water softeners and duct cleaning services.
- Ten days, no reason needed. Consumer Protection Ontario states the cooling-off period begins the day you receive a written copy of the agreement.
- One year, if the contract was deficient. Where the written contract omits required information or contains false statements, the cancellation right runs for a year from the day you entered into it.
- A mandatory cover page. Ontario water heater contracts must carry Form 11355, “Water Heater Contracts – What You Need To Know”, from the Ministry of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement, signed separately.
- Cancelling after installation is not free. You may still owe rental payments already due, removal expenses and charges for excessive wear.
- Quebec has its own regime. A merchant contracting away from its place of business is an itinerant merchant and must hold an Office de la protection du consommateur permit and state its number. Ten days to cancel, without fees or explanation. And because the merchant remains the owner of leased goods, the lessor — not you — bears the loss on force majeure or theft.
Cited by regulation number and in-force date rather than by section: Ontario e-Laws renders through JavaScript and CanLII returned HTTP 403 on 2026-09-11, so pinpoint sections of O. Reg. 180/08 and of Quebec's Loi sur la protection du consommateur could not be read and are not asserted. Form 11355 is cited for its existence, ministry and form number only — it is an XFA form and its body text could not be extracted, so nothing is quoted from it. The Consumer Protection Act, 2023 (Bill 142, Royal Assent 2023-12-06) will replace the 2002 Act on proclamation; no in-force date could be confirmed, and ontario.ca was still citing the 2002 Act as of its 2026-06-19 update. This is general information, not legal advice. One more correction worth making because it circulates widely: the ban does not come from the Strengthening Protection for Ontario Consumers Act, 2017, which is about travel services, event tickets and real estate — it comes from Bill 59, the Putting Consumers First Act, 2017.
What this calculator deliberately does not tell you
- A rental escalation formula. The “CPI plus 2%” clause that circulates on comparison sites could not be confirmed against any provider's own agreement — Enercare's sample contract is a watermarked image and its clause text is not machine-readable. The default of 3.93% is the one figure a provider did publish: Enercare's stated maximum increase over its 2025 rates, for tanks not individually listed in its 2026 schedule. It is a cap on one year's move, not a term of your contract. Read your own agreement and enter what it says.
- Heat-pump and electric-tankless running cost. NRCan publishes no energy factor for either, so the running-cost line is absent for them and the reason is on screen. A US coefficient of performance has not been converted to fill the gap.
- Natural gas running cost outside Ontario. The only Canadian gas schedule read was Enbridge Gas's Rate 1 for its EGD zone, effective 2026-07-01. Enbridge's own Union South zone differs materially on the same date, so Ontario is not even one rate — and no other province's utility schedule was read.
- How long a water heater lasts. NRCan publishes no service-life table for tank, tankless or heat-pump units, so the comparison horizon is your input and it defaults to the ten-year term two providers publish — not to an invented lifespan.
- Tax. Every figure is before GST, HST and PST. Enercare's published rental range is explicitly “plus HST”.
- The territories. Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut are not selectable. Hydro-Québec's cross-Canada residential electricity comparison prices no territorial city, and no territorial rental provider rate was read. Job Bank does publish plumber wages for all three territories — but a wage alone cannot price a water heater, and reusing a southern electricity price or a southern rental rate in a territory would understate both.
Rebates — and which ones are gone
There are far fewer than the comparison sites suggest, and a reader who has heard of one is better served by being told it closed than by its silent absence. Checked 2026-09-11:
- Enbridge Gas Home Efficiency Rebate Plus (Ontario) — CLOSED. Intake closed 2024-02-05; final submission 2025-12-31. Not shown as available.
- Hydro-Québec LogisVert — OPEN, but it contains NO water heater measure at all. Its eligible measures are heat pumps, geothermal, a heat-pump dryer, an induction range, roof insulation, pool pumps, solar and electric thermal storage. Third-party pages claiming a LogisVert water heater rebate are wrong.
- Canada Greener Homes Grant — CLOSED to new applications since 2024-02-27; final documents were due 2025-12-31.
- CleanBC / BC Hydro, FortisBC, Efficiency Nova Scotia and Efficiency Manitoba heat-pump-water-heater rebates — amounts could NOT be confirmed. All four bodies serve their rebate pages through JavaScript and returned navigation-only markup on 2026-09-11. Amounts exist only on third-party pages, so no figure is published here.
The one confirmed open with a body-published amount is SaskEnergy's Residential Equipment Replacement Rebate: C$1,000 for a tankless unit at 0.87 UEF or better, or C$1,000 for a condensing unit at 0.80 UEF or better, revised terms effective 2026-08-17, applications within 120 days of installation. A standard storage tank is explicitly not eligible, so a Saskatchewan reader choosing a plain tank correctly gets nothing from it.
Sources
- 2026 Water Heater Buyout Table — Enercare Home Services. Read 2026-09-11. Covers 2026-01-01 to 2026-12-31.Sixteen age brackets (0–1 yr through 15+ yr) across seven equipment categories, CAD. Every category floors at C$100 at fifteen years. Historical schedules 2016–2025 are published alongside it. Taxes and any removal or administration fee are not stated on the table.
- Tank water heater rental — Ontario monthly rates — Enercare Home Services. Read 2026-09-11."Starting from" monthly rates by venting type. Enercare's support page gives the 2026 range as C$19.29–C$81.12 per month PLUS HST, and states that tanks not individually listed face "a maximum increase of 3.93% over the 2025 rates" — the only escalation figure any provider published to source.
- 2026 Ontario Water Heater Pricing Guide — Reliance Home Comfort. Read 2026-09-11.Monthly rental by model and venting type. Terms published as "7 and 10 year term lengths"; the rentals page states an initial commitment of ten years, then month to month. Buyout is stated to be "based on the age of the unit" with no schedule published — which is why the buyout model here uses Enercare's published table and says so.
- Water heater rental — Quebec — Enbridge Énov. Read 2026-09-11.Electric tank rental before taxes: 40 gal C$14.99/month, 60 gal C$16.99/month. Minimum term 120 months, and explicitly "Fixed rate for the entire contract duration (10 years)" — no escalation. No buyout option is mentioned. Quebec rental is genuinely cheaper than Ontario; that is a market fact, not an error.
- Rules for businesses entering into contracts with consumers at home — Government of Ontario. Read 2026-09-11. 2018-01-29, last updated 2024-09-25.Water heaters are a restricted good: unsolicited door-to-door sale is prohibited unless the consumer initiates the transaction. Consumer Protection Act, 2002 and O. Reg. 180/08; rules in force 2018-03-01.
- Door-to-door sales and home service contracts — Consumer Protection Ontario, Government of Ontario. Read 2026-09-11. 2014-03-14, last updated 2026-06-19.Ten-day cooling-off period from receipt of a written copy of the agreement, with no reason required. A one-year cancellation right where the written contract omits required information or contains false statements. On cancellation after installation the consumer may still owe rental payments already due, removal expenses and excessive-wear charges. Suppliers must attach a separately-signed mandatory cover page.
- Water Heater Contracts – What You Need To Know (Form 11355) — Ministry of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement, Government of Ontario. Read 2026-09-11.The mandatory first page of an Ontario water heater contract. CITED FOR ITS EXISTENCE, MINISTRY AND FORM NUMBER ONLY — it is an XFA form and its body text could not be extracted on 2026-09-11, so nothing is quoted from it.
- Chauffage et climatisation / Nouvelles obligations du commerçant itinérant — Office de la protection du consommateur, Gouvernement du Québec. Read 2026-09-11.A merchant contracting away from its place of business is an itinerant merchant and must hold an OPC permit, state the permit number, and attach the Statement of Consumer Resolution Rights and the resolution form. Ten-day cancellation without fees or explanation. Because the merchant remains owner of leased goods, the LESSOR bears the loss on force majeure or theft. Pinpoint sections of the Loi sur la protection du consommateur were not obtained — CanLII returned 403.
- Water Heater Guide (EnerGuide Heating and Cooling series) — Office of Energy Efficiency, Natural Resources Canada. Read 2026-09-11. Revised October 2012. Cat. No. M144-243/2012E-PDF, ISBN 978-1-100-21102-2.Energy factors: electric storage tank 0.64–0.98, average 0.85; gas-fired storage tank 0.53–0.70, average 0.62; tankless gas minimum 0.82. Three people use 110–450 L of hot water a day. And the sentence this calculator exists to test: renting means that "over the life of the water heater, this option will be more costly than purchasing one." NO service-life-in-years table exists in this guide, and no per-type annual operating cost table.
- Residential Sector Canada — Table 2, secondary energy use by end-use — National Energy Use Database, Natural Resources Canada. Read 2026-09-11.Water heating is 265.2 PJ, 19.3% of residential secondary energy use in 2023, up from 254.3 PJ / 18.4% in 2000 — second only to space heating.
- The Complete 2026 Guide to Prices for Replacing a Water Heater in Quebec — Reno Quotes (Reno-Quotes Inc., Montréal). Read 2026-09-11. 2026-02-10.Installed purchase cost in CAD, unit plus labour. The article publishes FOUR columns — type, unit price, installation, total — and all three dollar columns are carried in CA_WATER_HEATER_TYPES as `unitOnly`, `labourOnly` and `installed`. Re-read 2026-09-12 (CA-02) to lift the unit/installation split: electric C$300–700 + C$300–500 = C$600–1,200; tankless electric C$200–800 + C$300–500 = C$500–1,300; gas C$700–1,500 + C$500–800 = C$1,200–2,300; thermodynamic C$1,500–3,000 + C$600–1,000 = C$2,100–4,000. THE ARTICLE PRICES QUEBEC — its own title says so — which is why the labour half is indexed by province rather than quoted nationally. Gas tank and gas tankless are published as ONE blended line (C$1,200–C$2,300 installed) — no Canadian publisher read on 2026-09-11 or 2026-09-12 separates them, so this dataset does not either.
- Plumber (NOC 72300) — wages by province — Job Bank, Government of Canada (ESDC). Read 2026-09-11. Wages updated 2025-11-19.Labour Force Survey, Statistics Canada, reference period 2023–2024 (some regions via Small Area Estimation for 2024). Job Bank's own occupation id is 4747; the NOC 2021 code is 72300. Every province returns a published band — unlike NOC 73113, none is n/a.
- Comparison of Electricity Prices in Major North American Cities — Hydro-Québec. Read 2026-09-11. Rates in effect 2025-04-01.Residential, 1,000 kWh per month, cents per kWh. The only Canadian source read that covers all ten provinces on one comparable basis, which is what makes a ten-province electricity operating cost honest rather than an average. No 2026 edition was published as of 2026-09-11.
- Electricity rates — Regulated Price Plan — Ontario Energy Board. Read 2026-09-11. In effect 2025-11-01.Tiered: Tier 1 12.0¢/kWh, Tier 2 14.2¢/kWh. Time-of-use: off-peak 9.8¢, mid-peak 15.7¢, on-peak 20.3¢. Cited as the Ontario cross-check on the Hydro-Québec comparison's Toronto/Ottawa figures. The OEB does NOT regulate water heater rental contracts — its consumer protection rules cover gas and electricity retailers, and a recommended water heater code of conduct was never implemented.
- Rate 1 residential — system rate change notice, EGD zone — Enbridge Gas (OEB-approved). Read 2026-09-11. Effective 2026-07-01.Customer charge C$27.69/month. Total effective gas supply rate on the bill 9.0498¢/m³. Delivery 14.3745¢/m³ on the first 30 m³, 13.5362¢ on the next 55, 12.8798¢ on the next 85, 12.3904¢ above 170. Typical residential customer 2,400 m³/year. The Union South zone differs materially on the same date (total effective gas supply 16.9580¢/m³), which is why no single Ontario gas rate is asserted and no other province's is modelled at all.
- Residential Equipment Replacement Rebate — SaskEnergy. Read 2026-09-11. Revised terms effective 2026-08-17.C$1,000 for a tankless water heater at 0.87 UEF or better; C$1,000 for a condensing water heater at 0.80 UEF or better. A standard storage tank is NOT eligible. Apply within 120 days of installation; programme funding is stated to be limited. The only water heater rebate confirmed OPEN with a body-published amount on 2026-09-11.
Water heating is 19.3% of all residential energy use in Canada as of 2023 on NRCan's National Energy Use Database — second only to heating the house itself. Every source above is Canadian. No US cost dataset, survey or price has been converted or used as a proxy anywhere on this route.
Next steps
The other appliance in the same mechanical room is usually on the same replacement clock — the Canadian furnace replacement cost calculator prices it by province and climate zone, and a furnace rental contract behaves the same way this one does. If the tank is going in as part of a larger job, the Canadian home renovation cost calculator and the basement renovation cost calculator cover the rest in CAD. And if you are funding a buyout plus a replacement from the house, the home equity calculator shows what is actually available to borrow against under Canadian lending limits.
The softener in the same room is rented and sold the same way. The Canadian water softener rent-vs-buy calculator puts Enercare's and Reliance's published softener rental and purchase prices side by side, finds the month renting overtakes buying, and prices the salt from your own municipality's published water hardness.
Frequently asked questions
Is it cheaper to rent or buy a water heater in Canada?
Buying, on almost any realistic set of numbers — and Natural Resources Canada says so itself. Its Water Heater Guide states that with renting, "over the life of the water heater, this option will be more costly than purchasing one." Put numbers on it: a conventional-vent gas tank rented from Enercare at its published C$25.87 a month, rising at the 3.93% maximum increase Enercare itself published for 2026, costs C$3,715 in payments over ten years. The same tank bought installed runs C$1,200–C$2,300 in Canadian dollars on Reno Quotes' February 2026 figures, a midpoint of C$1,750. Renting therefore costs about C$1,965 more across ten years, and cumulative rent passes the purchase price in month 63 — five years and three months in. All figures are Canadian dollars and before GST, HST and PST; Enercare's published rental range is explicitly plus HST.
How much does it cost to buy out a rented water heater in Canada?
It depends on the unit's age, and Enercare is the one provider that publishes the whole schedule: a 2026 buyout table of sixteen age brackets in Canadian dollars. A conventional-vent tank runs C$1,904 in its first year, C$1,447 at five to six years, C$969 at nine to ten, C$192 at fourteen to fifteen — and C$100 from fifteen years onward. Every category floors at C$100 at fifteen years: conventional vent, power vent, electric and tankless alike. Two things about that curve matter. It is not straight-line — the tank loses C$78 of buyout value in year one and C$92 in year fifteen, so the buyout stays high through the years you are most likely to want out. And the C$100 floor means a fifteen-year-old rented tank can be bought outright for roughly four months of what you are already paying to rent it. Reliance also offers a buyout and states the amount is based on the unit's age, but publishes no schedule, so the figures here are Enercare's and are labelled as Enercare's.
Can a water heater company sell me a rental contract at my door in Ontario?
No, not unsolicited. Water heaters are a restricted good in Ontario: under the Consumer Protection Act, 2002 and O. Reg. 180/08, with the rules in force since 1 March 2018, a business cannot offer or sell one at your home unless you initiated the transaction. The same restriction covers furnaces, air conditioners, air and water purifiers, water softeners and duct cleaning. If you do sign a contract, Consumer Protection Ontario states you have a ten-day cooling-off period beginning the day you receive a written copy, with no reason required — and a right to cancel within one year if the written contract omitted required information or contained false statements. Suppliers must attach a separately-signed mandatory cover page, Form 11355 from the Ministry of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement. On cancellation after installation you may still owe rental payments already due, removal expenses and excessive-wear charges. In Quebec the equivalent regime is the Office de la protection du consommateur's itinerant-merchant rules, which also give ten days to cancel without fees or explanation.
How much does a new water heater cost installed in Canada in 2026?
Reno Quotes' February 2026 Canadian figures, in Canadian dollars and including labour: an electric tank of 40 to 60 gallons runs C$600–C$1,200 installed; a gas unit of the same capacity C$1,200–C$2,300; an electric tankless C$500–C$1,300; and a heat-pump or thermodynamic unit C$2,100–C$4,000. Labour on its own is typically C$400–C$800 of that. One honest caveat: Reno Quotes publishes gas tank and gas tankless on a single blended line, and no Canadian publisher read for this calculator separates them — a real gas-tankless quote commonly lands above that band once venting and gas-line work are counted. Figures exclude GST, HST and PST. Plumber wages, which drive the labour half, come from Job Bank under NOC 72300 and vary a great deal by province: the median is C$26.00 an hour in New Brunswick and C$40.00 in Quebec, wages updated 19 November 2025.
What does a water heater cost to run in Canada each year?
It depends on the fuel, the unit's efficiency and — more than most people expect — the province. Water heating is 19.3% of all residential energy use in Canada as of 2023 on NRCan's National Energy Use Database, second only to space heating. For a 200-litre-a-day household at a 50 °C rise, the water itself takes about 4,244 kWh of useful energy a year. A gas tank at the 0.62 energy factor NRCan publishes as its average burns about 657 cubic metres to deliver that, which at Enbridge's EGD-zone Rate 1 effective 1 July 2026 is about C$154 a year. The same household on an electric tank at NRCan's 0.85 average needs about 4,993 kWh, which costs about C$414 a year in Montréal at 8.29¢ and about C$1,143 in Calgary at 22.90¢ — on Hydro-Québec's own published cross-Canada comparison. That 2.76-times spread is why a single Canadian average running cost is wrong nearly everywhere someone quotes one.
Why does this calculator not show a running cost for a heat-pump water heater?
Because Natural Resources Canada does not publish an efficiency figure for one, and this calculator will not convert a US coefficient of performance to fill the gap. NRCan's Water Heater Guide publishes energy factors for electric storage tanks (0.64–0.98, average 0.85), gas-fired storage tanks (0.53–0.70, average 0.62) and tankless gas (0.82 minimum). It publishes nothing for a heat-pump or thermodynamic unit, and nothing for electric tankless. Those two are therefore offered with their installed purchase cost, which Reno Quotes does publish, and with the running-cost line absent and the reason on screen — not a zero, which would read as free. Natural gas running cost has the same treatment geographically: the only Canadian gas rate schedule read was Enbridge's Rate 1 for its EGD zone in Ontario, and Enbridge's own Union South zone differs materially on the very same date, so gas running cost is modelled for Ontario only and is omitted elsewhere. The buy-versus-rent decision still stands up without it, because running cost is identical whoever owns the tank.
Are there rebates for a new water heater in Canada?
Far fewer than the comparison sites suggest, and it is worth knowing which ones are actually gone. Confirmed open with a body-published amount as of 11 September 2026: SaskEnergy's Residential Equipment Replacement Rebate pays C$1,000 for a tankless water heater at 0.87 UEF or better, or C$1,000 for a condensing unit at 0.80 UEF or better, with revised terms effective 17 August 2026 — a standard storage tank is explicitly not eligible, and applications must be made within 120 days of installation. Confirmed closed: Enbridge Gas's Home Efficiency Rebate Plus in Ontario, whose intake closed 5 February 2024, and the federal Canada Greener Homes Grant, closed to new applications since 27 February 2024. Worth correcting outright: Hydro-Québec's LogisVert programme is open but contains no water heater measure at all — its eligible measures are heat pumps, geothermal, a heat-pump dryer, an induction range, insulation, pool pumps, solar and electric thermal storage — so third-party pages advertising a LogisVert water heater rebate are wrong. Amounts for CleanBC, FortisBC, Efficiency Nova Scotia and Efficiency Manitoba could not be confirmed, because all four serve their rebate pages through JavaScript, so no figure for them is published here.
Want to try different numbers?
Back to the calculator ↑Water Heater Rent vs Buy Calculator Canada is built and maintained by the RealCostIQ editorial team. Cost ranges and rates are checked against published industry data and contractor quotes, and revised when the underlying figures move. Read our data methodology or more about who builds this. Every calculation runs in your browser — no account, and none of your inputs are stored.
Cost ranges and rates here are checked against contractor quotes and published industry data. If a number still looks off, email Support@RealCostIQ.com and we'll review and fix it.