How it works
Enter home size & BHK
Provide your carpet area and configuration (1/2/3 BHK).
Choose finish level
Budget (laminate), mid-range (BWP ply, branded), or premium (PU-coated).
Get your estimate
See the per-sq-ft band and how it sits against the source’s own whole-project band.
Interior design cost by carpet area — 2026
Carpet area × the finish’s published per-sq-ft band. These are the same numbers the calculator above returns, computed by the same function, so the table and the tool cannot disagree.
Interior Design Cost by Carpet Area — India 2026
| Carpet area | Budget (MDF/particle board, laminate) | Mid-range (BWR ply, granite/quartz counters) | Premium (marine ply, PU/veneer, smart automation) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 sq ft | ₹5 L – ₹7.5 L | ₹7.5 L – ₹12.5 L | ₹12.5 L – ₹22.5 L |
| 800 sq ft | ₹8 L – ₹12 L | ₹12 L – ₹20 L | ₹20 L – ₹36 L |
| 1,000 sq ft | ₹10 L – ₹15 L | ₹15 L – ₹25 L | ₹25 L – ₹45 L |
| 1,200 sq ft | ₹12 L – ₹18 L | ₹18 L – ₹30 L | ₹30 L – ₹54 L |
| 1,500 sq ft | ₹15 L – ₹22.5 L | ₹22.5 L – ₹37.5 L | ₹37.5 L – ₹67.5 L |
| 2,000 sq ft | ₹20 L – ₹30 L | ₹30 L – ₹50 L | ₹50 L – ₹90 L |
Per-sq-ft rate by finish level
Interior Design Rate per Sq Ft by Finish — India 2026
| Finish level | Per sq ft of carpet area | What the money buys |
|---|---|---|
| Budget (MDF/particle board, laminate) | ₹1,000 – ₹1,500 | MDF or particle board carcass, laminate shutters, standard hardware, emulsion paint |
| Mid-range (BWR ply, granite/quartz counters) | ₹1,500 – ₹2,500 | BWR (boiling-water-resistant) ply carcass, granite or quartz counters, branded soft-close hinges and channels |
| Premium (marine ply, PU/veneer, smart automation) | ₹2,500 – ₹4,500 | Marine ply carcass, PU-coated or veneer shutters, smart-home automation |
What drives the cost difference?
Budget
MDF or particle board carcass, laminate shutters, standard hardware, basic hinged wardrobes, ceramic tiles, emulsion paint
Mid-range
BWR ply carcass, acrylic or membrane shutters, granite or quartz counters, branded soft-close hinges and channels, vitrified tiles, false ceiling with cove lighting
Premium
Marine ply carcass, PU-coated or veneer shutters, designer false ceiling, large-format or imported tiles, smart-home automation
Typical cost by BHK configuration
The dataset above prices per sq ft of carpet area and publishes no separate figure by bedroom count. NoBroker’s Full Home Interior Design Cost Guide — the same guide this page’s per-sq-ft bands come from — separately publishes typical apartment-size ranges by configuration: 1 BHK ~450–600 sq ft, 2 BHK ~750–1,000 sq ft, 3 BHK ~1,200–1,500 sq ft, 4 BHK 1,800–2,400 sq ft (nobroker.in, “Full Home Interior Design Cost Guide 2026”, checked 2026-09-03). The guide does not state whether those ranges are carpet, built-up or super built-up area — in most Indian apartments carpet area runs 60–75% of the super built-up figure a brochure advertises, so applying this page’s carpet-area rate to a super built-up number would overstate the bill. Treat the ranges below as a rough starting point only; use the carpet area on your own RERA sale agreement, which is what the calculator above actually needs.
Interior Design Cost by Typical BHK Size — India 2026
| Configuration | Typical size range | Budget (MDF/particle board, laminate) | Mid-range (BWR ply, granite/quartz counters) | Premium (marine ply, PU/veneer, smart automation) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 BHK | ~450–600 sq ft | ₹4.5 L – ₹9 L | ₹6.75 L – ₹15 L | ₹11.25 L – ₹27 L |
| 2 BHK | ~750–1,000 sq ft | ₹7.5 L – ₹15 L | ₹11.25 L – ₹25 L | ₹18.75 L – ₹45 L |
| 3 BHK | ~1,200–1,500 sq ft | ₹12 L – ₹22.5 L | ₹18 L – ₹37.5 L | ₹30 L – ₹67.5 L |
| 4 BHK | ~1,800–2,400 sq ft | ₹18 L – ₹36 L | ₹27 L – ₹60 L | ₹45 L – ₹1.08 Cr |
Size ranges: NoBroker, 'Full Home Interior Design Cost Guide 2026' (nobroker.in), checked 2026-09-03 — area type (carpet vs built-up vs super built-up) not specified by the source, so treat these as illustrative rather than your own flat's figure. Cost bands: this page's own per-sq-ft rates (₹1,000–₹4,500/sq ft of carpet area), same source, checked 2026-08-30, applied to the low and high end of each size range.
Turnkey execution vs. a design-only fee
The per-sq-ft bands on this page price a turnkey package — one firm handles design, materials, manufacturing and on-site execution under a single contract. That is not the only way interiors are sold in India. NoBroker’s separate cost guide distinguishes a design-only engagement, where “the responsibility for contractor selection, material purchases, manufacturing, deliveries, and site supervision usually remains with the homeowner,” and quotes that design fee at 8–15% of the project value — roughly ₹50,000–₹2,00,000 on a 2 BHK, against ₹3,50,000–₹10,00,000+ for full turnkey execution on the same configuration (nobroker.in, “Interior Designer Costs in India 2026”, checked 2026-09-03).
A design-only fee is cheaper up front because it buys drawings and supervision, not materials or labour — you still pay a contractor separately for the execution, and that execution cost is what this page’s per-sq-ft bands estimate. The two numbers answer different questions: budget the design fee only if you are pricing a designer’s services in isolation, and budget the per-sq-ft band above if you want the all-in cost of getting the work done.
What this page still does not estimate, and one figure pending an update
- ·An exact city cost index. This page’s cost notes (below, via Methodology & Sources) currently say no city-specific percentage was found for interior design and state direction only. A 2026-09-03 re-check of the same NoBroker guide found it now publishes “Metros have 20–30% higher prices than tier-2 cities” — that figure is not yet carried into this page’s calculator or its sourced dataset, so budget 20–30% above the band in Mumbai, Delhi NCR, Bengaluru and other metros as a planning range pending that update, not as a number this calculator applies.
- ·A room-wise split. The source prices interiors as a whole, not room by room. Rather than apportion one number six ways, the linked calculators below each carry their own sourced dataset for the kitchen, the wardrobes, the false ceiling, the flooring and the paint.
The one figure a designer's quote can't hide behind is the material standard. Ask for the ISI licence number tied to IS 303:2024 (plywood) or IS 12823:2015 (particle board) for carcasses, and confirm which is actually being used — the two are different materials at different price points, and quotes rarely distinguish them by standard number.
Two different carcass materials, two different BIS standards
A quote that describes carcass material only as "ply" or "board" does not say which BIS standard it is licensed under. The two common options are genuinely different materials: IS 303:2024, BIS's current standard for general-purpose plywood, and IS 12823:2015, the standard specifically for prelaminated particle board (PLPB) — the wood-panel material most commonly used for factory-made modular carcasses in India. If your quote says "plywood" but the ISI mark on delivery reads IS 12823, you're not getting what was priced.
For any carcass near a wet zone — a kitchen unit beside the sink, a bathroom vanity — ask specifically for marine-grade plywood instead of general-purpose: IS 710:2024 requires the adhesive bonding the veneers to be based on a synthetic resin conforming to BWP Type of IS 848, a wet-resistance requirement general-purpose IS 303 plywood does not carry.
Paint finish and bathroom-fixture standards, if they're in scope
If wall paint is part of the design scope, IS 15489:2024 is BIS's current standard for plastic emulsion paint, the most common interior wall-paint category — a distinct standard from enamel or distemper finishes, which are separate IS numbers. And if the brief includes a bathroom fit-out, WC pans should carry a licence under IS 2556 (Part 2):2024, one of at least twelve active parts of the same sanitaryware standard covering basins, urinals and bidets separately — the part number should match the specific fixture, not just a generic "IS 2556" reference.
None of these BIS product manuals states a rupee figure; they are certification and testing procedure documents, licensed under Scheme-I of the BIS (Conformity Assessment) Regulations, 2018. Their use here is narrow: an ISI licence number tied to the correct standard is something you can verify independently of what a designer's quote line says the material is.
Methodology
All standard numbers here are drawn directly from BIS's own product-manual pages, one per material category, linked inline at the specific claim. No price or coverage-rate figure is asserted from any of these documents — each is a certification manual, not a cost source.
Sources
- BIS — Product Manual for Plywood for General Purpose (IS 303:2024) — accessed 2026-09-21
- BIS — Product Manual for Marine Plywood (IS 710:2024) — accessed 2026-09-21
- BIS — Product Manual for Paint, Plastic Emulsion (IS 15489:2024) — accessed 2026-09-21
- BIS — Product Manual for Prelaminated Particle Boards (IS 12823:2015) — accessed 2026-09-21
- BIS — Product Manual for Vitreous China Sanitary Appliances, Part 2 (IS 2556 (Part 2):2024) — accessed 2026-09-21
Related calculators
Disclaimer: Estimates for budgeting purposes. Actual costs depend on design complexity, site conditions, and contractor. Always get a detailed BOQ before signing.
Methodology & sources
The cost figures on this page are generated from a single, sourced cost-data file (Per sq ft of home area for full interiors (materials, execution, and the listed fit-out items — appliances and luxury add-ons excluded), India national average for 2026.). Cost depends more on storage, finishes, and personalisation than raw area. Metro cities cost noticeably more; no state- or city-specific published index was found for interior design specifically (unlike stamp duty or construction), so this page states direction (which cities cost more) without inventing a precise percentage. Last verified August 2026.
- NoBroker Technologies Solutions Pvt Ltd — "Full Home Interior Design Cost Guide 2026" — retrieved 2026-08-30
Frequently asked questions
What is the interior design cost for a 2BHK in India in 2026?
Interiors in India are priced per sq ft of CARPET area, not per bedroom, so start from the carpet area on your sale agreement rather than the BHK label. A 2 BHK commonly has 650–900 sq ft of carpet area. At the finish bands this page's source publishes — Budget (MDF/particle board, laminate) ₹1,000–₹1,500/sq ft; Mid-range (BWR ply, granite/quartz counters) ₹1,500–₹2,500/sq ft; Premium (marine ply, PU/veneer, smart automation) ₹2,500–₹4,500/sq ft — an 800 sq ft carpet area comes to ₹8 L–₹12 L at the budget level and ₹20 L–₹36 L at premium. This source publishes no separate whole-project band by configuration, so no BHK-specific figure is quoted here. Source: NoBroker Technologies Solutions Pvt Ltd — "Full Home Interior Design Cost Guide 2026", retrieved 2026-08-30.
What does home interior design cost per sq ft in India?
Full home interiors are quoted per sq ft of CARPET area — not built-up or super built-up — at ₹1,000–₹4,500 per sq ft in 2026, by finish level: Budget (MDF/particle board, laminate) ₹1,000–₹1,500 per sq ft; Mid-range (BWR ply, granite/quartz counters) ₹1,500–₹2,500 per sq ft; Premium (marine ply, PU/veneer, smart automation) ₹2,500–₹4,500 per sq ft. Multiply by your RERA carpet area, which is commonly 60–75% of the super built-up figure a brochure advertises. Source: NoBroker Technologies Solutions Pvt Ltd — "Full Home Interior Design Cost Guide 2026", retrieved 2026-08-30.
What is included in a home interior design package?
A standard home interior package includes: modular kitchen (carcass, shutters, countertop, hob, chimney space, accessories), wardrobes for all bedrooms (sliding or hinged), false ceiling (living, dining, bedrooms), flooring (if new tiles are being laid), painting (interior walls), TV unit and crockery unit, bathroom accessories (not civil work). It does NOT include: civil/plumbing work, bathroom renovation, window grills, electrical rewiring, or appliances.
How do I choose between Livspace, DesignCafe, and local interior designers in India?
Branded firms (Livspace, DesignCafe, HomeLane): 10-year warranty on modular work, dedicated project manager, material quality guaranteed, RERA-registered projects accepted. 20–30% more expensive than local designers. Good for: first-time buyers, NRIs, tight timelines. Local interior designers: 20–40% cheaper, more flexible on customisation, but warranty and quality control vary. Always check references and get a detailed item-wise BOQ (Bill of Quantities) before signing any contract.