Skip to main content
RealCostIQ

Down Payment Assistance

Down Payment Assistance in Wyoming (2026)

Wyoming homebuyers can access up to $15,000 in down payment assistance through the Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA). On the state's $352,400 median home price, that covers roughly 21% of a standard 20% down payment. Wyoming has 2 state DPA programs total.

Viewing:
·Switch state to compare

New to this? Quick definitions

DPA —
down payment assistance. Money — as a grant or loan — that helps cover the upfront cash you'd otherwise need to buy a home.
Grant vs. loan —
a grant is money you never repay. A loan (forgivable, deferred, or repayable) can come with strings attached, even at 0% interest.
Forgivable loan —
the balance is wiped out over time if you stay in the home — but it's still a real loan until then, and selling or refinancing early can trigger repayment.
Deferred loan (silent second) —
a second loan on your home with no monthly payments, often called a "silent second" because you won't notice it until you sell, refinance, or pay off your first mortgage — that's when it comes due.
AMI —
Area Median Income. The midpoint household income for your county, used to set eligibility — programs list limits as a percentage of AMI (e.g. 80% of AMI).
Income limit —
the maximum household income you can earn and still qualify, based on where you live and how many people are in your household.
Purchase price cap —
the maximum home price a program will help you buy — homes priced above the cap don't qualify, even if your income does.

Do you likely qualify?

The Home$tretch DPA Loan caps the home purchase price at $566,354 — check that cap against homes you're considering, and the county income limit below.

See your full number after assistance →

Primary Program: Home$tretch DPA Loan

Deferred Loan
$15,000

maximum assistance

0% interest, no monthly payments. Repaid when you sell, refinance, or pay off the first mortgage — this is sometimes called a "silent second" because you won't notice it until then.

Purchase Price Cap
$566,354
Apply Through Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA)

Additional Wyoming DPA Programs

Amortizing DPA Loan

Repayable Loan

$15,000

A low-interest second loan on your home (on top of your main mortgage) with its own monthly payments over a set term.

Apply / Learn More

How Down Payment Assistance Works

Most state DPA programs are layered on top of a first mortgage — you apply through an approved lender who originates both the primary loan and the DPA second lien at the same closing. The DPA funds reduce the cash you need upfront.

Grants

Free money — no repayment ever. Typically the smallest amounts but highest value.

Forgivable Loans

Balance forgiven after a set period (usually 3–15 years) if you stay in the home. Selling early triggers repayment.

Deferred Loans

No monthly payments. Balance due when you sell, refinance, or pay off your mortgage.

Mistakes first-time buyers make

  • Assuming you don't qualify without actually checking the income limit for your county and household size.
  • Treating a "forgivable" loan as free money — it can still come due in full if you sell or refinance before the forgiveness term ends.
  • Stacking programs incorrectly, or assuming state and local programs combine automatically without confirming with your lender.
  • Skipping the required homebuyer education course, which can delay or disqualify your application at closing.

Pro tips

  • Talk to a HUD-approved housing counselor first — it's free and they know every program you may qualify for, not just the state's.
  • Apply for mortgage pre-approval alongside your DPA program application; most DPA funds are disbursed through an approved lender at the same closing.
  • Check local city and county programs in addition to the state program above — many are stackable and cover different costs.
  • Ask exactly what triggers repayment on any loan-based assistance before you sign, not after.

Down Payment Calculator

Down Payment Planner

Wyoming median pre-loaded

$
$
$100$5,000

Your Savings Plan

Down payment needed (20%)$70,480
You currently have$0
Remaining to save$70,480

Timeline

11.8 yrs

saving $500/mo

No PMI at 20% down

20% or more avoids private mortgage insurance entirely.

Estimate only — does not include investment returns on savings.

Full Calculator →

Wyoming Assistance Programs, Term by Term

Wyoming Community Development Authority

Home$tretch DPA Loan

deferred second (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14)

Assistance
$15,000 maximum loan amount
Repayment
0% interest rate (0.080% APR based on an average loan amount of $5,500); no monthly payment; due upon sale of the home, refinance or 30 year maturity.
Income limit
Standard FTHB/Spruce Up/MCC total family household income limits by county (effective 6/22/2026): most counties about $101,254-$116,800 for 1-2 persons and $116,442-$134,320 for 3+ persons (e.g. Albany $107,000 / $123,050; Laramie $104,400 / $120,060); Teton $178,200 / $207,900; higher limits in targeted census tracts. Edge: $140,140 repayment/qualifying income limit, all counties and family sizes.
Purchase price limit
Standard FTHB/Spruce Up: $566,354 in most counties; Uinta $606,442; Teton $1,306,974; targeted tracts $692,211 (effective 6/22/2026). Edge: no purchase price limit.
First-time buyer rule
Required when paired with the Standard First-Time Homebuyer or Spruce Up loan (no ownership interest in a primary residence in the last 3 years); the Edge product has no first-time homebuyer requirement.
Minimum credit score
620 minimum credit score
Homebuyer education
First-time homebuyers are required to complete the homebuyer education class through Wyoming Housing Network, Inc.
First mortgage it pairs with
May be used with the First-time Homebuyer, Spruce Up and Edge products only (FTHB product accepts FHA, VA and RD financing). $1,500 minimum borrower contribution (may be a gift).

Amortizing DPA Loan

amortizing second (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14)

Assistance
$15,000 maximum loan amount
Repayment
Fixed interest rate; fully amortizing, low monthly payments; maximum 10 year term.
Income limit
Advantage product: income must be at or below $140,140 (repayment/qualifying income limit, all counties and family sizes, effective 6/22/2026).
Purchase price limit
No purchase price limit (Advantage product).
First-time buyer rule
No first-time homebuyer requirement (Advantage product).
Minimum credit score
620 minimum credit score
Homebuyer education
First-time homebuyers are required to complete the homebuyer education class through Wyoming Housing Network, Inc.
First mortgage it pairs with
May be used only with the Advantage product (30-year fixed; conventional/government type not stated on the page). $1,500 minimum borrower contribution (may be a gift).

Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC)

MCC (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14)

Assistance
Federal income tax credit calculated off mortgage interest paid; credit rate not stated on the WCDA homebuyer page.
Repayment
Not a loan. May be subject to Federal Recapture Tax; borrowers paying recapture tax are eligible for reimbursement from WCDA.
Income limit
Standard FTHB/Spruce Up/MCC total family household income limits by county (effective 6/22/2026): most counties about $101,254-$116,800 for 1-2 persons and $116,442-$134,320 for 3+ persons (e.g. Albany $107,000 / $123,050; Laramie $104,400 / $120,060); Teton $178,200 / $207,900; higher limits in targeted census tracts.
Purchase price limit
Standard FTHB/Spruce Up: $566,354 in most counties; Uinta $606,442; Teton $1,306,974; targeted tracts $692,211 (effective 6/22/2026).
First-time buyer rule
Must meet FTHB requirement of no ownership interest in a primary residence in the last 3 years
First mortgage it pairs with
May be used with HFA Preferred (with MI or no MI), and Advantage purchase transactions only

What the Assistance Does on a $352,400 Wyoming Home

A worked example at Wyoming's median home price (Zillow Home Value Index, April 2026), using the same payment model as the Wyoming salary page: a 7.03% 30-year fixed rate (Freddie Mac PMMS, week of September 24, 2026), PMI from the National MI rate card on the 10%-down case, the state's effective property-tax rate and homeowners premium, and principal, interest, tax and insurance held to 28% of gross income.

How much of the down payment it covers

A 10% down payment on a $352,400 home is $35,240, and 20% is $70,480. The $15,000 Home$tretch DPA Loan maximum covers 43% of the first and 21% of the second, leaving $20,240 of a 10% down payment to come from savings, before any closing costs.

Whether a household under the income limit can carry it

Carrying the median home takes $92,529 a year with 20% down, or $107,829 with 10% down and PMI. The first-mortgage income limit at Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA) varies; the tightest case is $101,254 — Park County, Standard First-Time Homebuyer, 1–2 person household — the lowest county limit. (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14) That is enough for the median home only with 20% down; with 10% down the payment needs $6,575 more income than the limit allows. At exactly $101,254, the same model supports a price of about $387,437, $35,037 above the median.

The First Mortgage and Closing Taxes This Assistance Has to Cover in Wyoming

Recording fees

$12.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page for recording any instrument (statewide county clerk fee, W.S. 18-3-402(a)(xvi)(A)) (Wyoming Legislature, retrieved 2026-09-14)

Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA): First-Time Homebuyer (Standard FTHB) loan

First-Time Homebuyer (Standard FTHB) loan is the first-mortgage programme run by Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA). (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14) Its purchase-price limit is $566,354 (Standard FTHB, Spruce Up and MCC, most counties; Uinta $606,442; targeted tracts in Laramie/Natrona $692,211; Teton $1,306,974; Advantage and Edge products have no purchase price limit; reservations from 6/22/2026), so a $352,400 home is within it. (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14) Income limits: Standard First-Time Homebuyer, Spruce Up and MCC limits vary by county, up to $178,200 (1-2 persons) and $207,900 (3+) in Teton County; Advantage and Edge qualifying income limit $140,140 in all counties and family sizes. (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14) Down payment help comes through Home$tretch DPA (deferred) and Amortizing DPA: $15,000 maximum loan amount; Home$tretch is 0% interest with no monthly payment, due on sale, refinance or 30-year maturity (with First-time Homebuyer, Spruce Up and Edge); Amortizing DPA is fixed-rate, max 10-year term (with Advantage only); $1,500 minimum borrower contribution. (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14) Minimum credit score: 620. (Wyoming Community Development Authority, retrieved 2026-09-14)

Frequently Asked Questions

What down payment assistance is available in Wyoming?

Wyoming's primary DPA program is the Home$tretch DPA Loan, administered by the Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA). It provides up to $15,000 as a deferred loan. 0% interest, no monthly payments. Repaid when you sell, refinance, or pay off the first mortgage — this is sometimes called a "silent second" because you won't notice it until then. Additional programs include Amortizing DPA Loan.

How much down payment do I need in Wyoming after using DPA?

On a $352,400 home (Wyoming median), a 20% down payment is $70,480. With the Home$tretch DPA Loan covering $15,000, your remaining gap would be $55,480. Many buyers combine DPA with a 3–5% conventional or FHA loan to reduce their cash needed further.

Do I have to repay Wyoming down payment assistance?

0% interest, no monthly payments. Repaid when you sell, refinance, or pay off the first mortgage — this is sometimes called a "silent second" because you won't notice it until then.

Can I combine Wyoming DPA with other assistance programs?

Wyoming's state DPA may have restrictions on combining with other assistance programs. Verify stacking rules with an approved lender before applying.

What are the income limits for Wyoming down payment assistance?

The Home$tretch DPA Loan does not publish its income limit as a single percentage of AMI; limits are set in dollars by county and household size. Check the Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA) website for current limits in your area.

Related Calculators

What to do next

Down payment assistance is one piece of the puzzle. Here's where to go depending on where you are in the process.

Not sure if you qualify?

Check the Wyoming Community Development Authority (WCDA) income limits above before ruling yourself out — many buyers qualify without realizing it.

Want the full true cost picture?

DPA covers the down payment, not your ongoing costs. See the true cost of owning a home in Wyoming for the full monthly picture.

Ready to apply?

Most DPA funds are disbursed through an approved lender at closing — get pre-approved and ask specifically about Home$tretch DPA Loan when you apply.